Convention News

2012 Convention Round Up

Kitchener, Ontario, June 4, 2012-Livestock Markets Association of Canada held a very successful Convention and Auctioneer Championship in Calgary and Stavely Alberta from May 31 – June 3, 2012

Twenty-five Auctioneers from across Canada vied for the coveted title of Canadian Auctioneer Champion. Justin Gattey representing VJV Auction Market in Ponoka Alberta topped the field to win the 2012 Championship. Justin who has been selling for five years, was presented the Champion Buckle by Darryl Snider representing the Canadian Simmental Association.

Travis Rogers of Nilsson Bros. in Clyde, Alberta was the Reserve Champion and awarded the Canadian Charolais Association Buckle presented by John Meilhausen. Third place sponsored by the Canadian Angus Association was presented by Brian Good to Frederick Bodnarus, of Meadowlake Stockyards. Fourth place was won by Faron Ward of Candiac Auction and was awarded the Canadian Hereford Association Buckle presented by Jim Abel. Anne Burgess representing the Canadian Limousin Association presented the fifth place buckle to the host for the weekend, Rob Bergevin from the VJV market in Stavely.

The Merial Canada Rookie of the Year Buckle was won by Tyler Slawinski, and Rob Bergevin won the Jim Raffan Memorial most congenial Auctioneer Buckle.
Ty Rosehill and Patrick Cassidy from the Olds Auction Mart, Rhett Parks of Whitewood Livestock Sales and Brock Taylor from Taylor Auctions rounded out the top ten Auctioneers.

Ken Hurlburt from Fort MacLeod Alberta was inducted into the LMAC Hall of Fame on Friday evening. Ken joins Ralph Vold and Roy Rutledge, inductees from 2010 and 2011respectively. This prestigious award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the livestock industry, LMAC, their Provincial Associations and the larger community.

Ken built the Fort MacLeod market in 1960. The Highwood Market was build in 1983.Ken served as President of the Alberta Markets Association and served on the National Markets Association. He was an auctioneer and an MP for 6 ½ years. Ken was also the Mayor of Fort MacLeod.

Ken Hurlburt is a leader in the community and in the Alberta livestock industry. LMAC salutes Ken Hurlburt for his leadership, vision and tenacity.

The delegates heard presentations on three topics. Rick Wright made a presentation on traceability and the assessment study that is being proposed by Government. He gave a good update on the current state of traceability.

CCA Executive Vice President Dennis Laycraft gave a presentation on BIX’s. The Beef Information Exchange was established by CCA to provide better information from birth to the plate. LMAC members have had a concern that this system may morph into a online selling system. Dennis assured the members that this is not the intention of the system and that CCA would do everything in it’s power to not let that happen.

LIS did an online demonstration of the Movement Document ( Manifest ) that is currently being used in Alberta and is being proposed across Canada to report group movement instead of individual animal reading.

The final session was a roundtable discussion by LMAC members to determine the top five issues facing our membership. There was a vigorous discussion of issues. The ideas generated will be fine tuned and a strategy will be developed to deliver formal training for our members around the five issues.

The Saturday morning educational program wrapped up with an inspiring talk at the convention luncheon by Cassie Campbell-Pascall . Cassie is a six time World Champion who lead Canada to two Olympic Gold Medals. Cassie talked to the delegates on the topic of Consistent Leadership drawing on her own experience as Captain of Canada’s Women’s Hockey Team.

Jim Abel, Stettler AB. was reelected as President, Ken Perlich,Lethbridge, AB 1st Vice President & Scott Campbell, Winnipeg MB 2nd Vice President. Directors reelected are Tom Vicars BC, Bob Perlich AB, Stewart Stone SK, Rhett Parks SK, Rick Wright MB, Larry Witzel ON, Steve Spratt ON.