Convention News

2022 Convention Round Up

Over 250 people took part in the convention this year.  The business meeting was well attended with discussions on transfer of care documents, a market outlook and a panel discussion on the challenges of operating a livestock market.

LMAC members and industry partners were given a interesting “livestock market outlook” by Anne Wasko from Gateway Livestock Marketing.  Dr. Anne from the CFIA tried to answer numerous direct questions from LMAC members on the requirement for Transfer of Care Documents and federal transport regulations.

A Panel discussion on the challenges of operating a livestock auction included presentations from Mark Ferraro from the Brussels Livestock in Ontario, Myles Masson owner/operator of the Ste. Rose Auction Mart in Manitoba and Jason Danard from the Calgary Stockyards in Strathmore Alberta.  There was high level of member interaction on a number of topics both provincial and federal.

Reg Schellenberg, Canadian Cattle Association president addressed the LMAC members and enforced the benefits of both LMAC and CCA working together for a stronger cattle industry.  He brought assurances from CCA that they support LMAC on a large number of current issues including transfer of care documents, transportation issues including electronic logs and traceability.  We welcomed LMAC’s active participation as an associate member of CCA.

Five directors at large were elected to the LMAC board of directors.   Jason Danard from the Calgary Stockyards; Brent Brooks from Northern Livestock Sales, Lloydminster, Saskatchewan; Craig Jacklin from VJV Marketing Group, Ponoka, Alberta; Rick Wright, Rick Wright Cattle Consulting, Virden, Manitoba; and Mark Ferraro, Brussels Livestock, Brussels, Ontario.

Brock Taylor was reconfirmed as President of LMAC for the next year.  Rick Wright was reappointed as the Executive Administrator for the next year.

The membership voted in favor of requesting an exemption on the requirements for a transfer of care document on cattle traveling less that 300 miles to an auction market of assembly yard, providing there are no compromised animals arriving on the load.

Rick Wright and Rob Bergevin reported on Code of Practice development by NFACC on intermediate sites and transport of livestock.  The intermediate site code is near completion.  Wright stated that the challenges included species harmonization from rabbits to cattle in the same code.  He also stress that many of the proposed best practice recommendation were worded with the pretext “ must” rather than “ to the best of our ability”.   Bergevin reported on the importance of LMAC’s participation to protect our industry.   Wright reported that on the intermediate site committee there was one auction market representative and two animal welfare representatives.

Auctioneers from Alberta to Nova Scotia converged on Lloydminster, Saskatchewan to compete for the Canadian Livestock Auctioneering Championships.  The competition was part of the Livestock Markets Association of Canada’s annual convention., Northern Livestock Sales, operated by the Brooks family, hosted the competition in Lloydminster.  They assembled over 3500 top quality cattle for the 37 auctioneers to sell.  Each auctioneer got the chance to sell eight drafts of cattle by the pound in the first round along with a “black box” item, which they sold by the dollar.  The auctioneers were also required to take part in a personal interview with a separate group of judges, which asked questions on industry issues and opinions of the future of the auction industry.   The interview part of the competition was worth 20% of the first round of scoring.   In the first round the six judges from across Canada listened, watched and evaluated the auctioneers on the following categories, “clarity and voice control”, “chant”, “enthusiasm”, “professionalism, confidence, calmness, and mannerisms”, “would the judge hire this individual to work for them and would he be a good representative for LMAC”.   Both the top and bottom scores were dropped, and the remaining four scores, along with the interview score were combined.   The top ten returned for round two. The first round scores were not carried forward, and the second round was judged solely on the auctioneering criteria.

The 2022 Champion was Bradley Martens from Gibbons, Alberta.  Martens sells at VJV Westlock.  He received $1200 in prize money, the use of an EBY stock trailer for one year, a championship ring and buckle, as well as a limited edition bronze statuette.  Martens will represent LMAC at the International Auctioneering Championships at the Calgary Stampede.  The Champion’s prizes are sponsored by LMAC, Canadian Simmental Association, EBY T-Down Trailer Sales and Kaldeck Trailers, the Canadian Charolais Association, and Foothills Auctioneers Inc.

Reserve Champion was Kyle Soderberg from Spiritwood, Saskatchewan.  He received the Canadian Angus Association buckle.

First runner-up Tyler Slawinski, representing the Gladstone Auction in Manitoba, was presented the Canadian Hereford Association buckle.

Second runner-up was Jesse Lawes of the Provost Livestock Exchange in Alberta; he won the Canadian Limousin Association buckle.

The Canadian Shorthorn Association sponsored third runner-up. The winner was Rob Bergevin from Foothills Auctioneers Inc. in Stavely, Alberta.

LMAC Rookie of the Year was awarded to Jesse Campbell of HLS Brandon and Fraser Auctions in Brandon, Manitoba.

The Most Improved Auctioneer for 2022 was Edward McCormack from Clandonald, Alberta.  He sells at Viking Auction Mart.  McCormack was awarded the Jack Auction Group, award buckle.

The 37 auctioneers competing in the event selected the Whitewood Livestock Sales Most Congenial auctioneer.  Justin Perlich from Perlich Bros. in Lethbridge was awarded this coveted buckle.

Rob Bergevin from Foothills Auctioneers Inc., took home the High Point interview buckle sponsored by Thorsby Stockyards Inc.

The 2022 Man/Sask Auctioneering Championships were held in conjunction with the LMAC event.  Man/Sask Champion Boehringer Ingelheim buckle was awarded to Kyle Soderberg.   The Bob Wright Memorial Man/Sask Rookie award was presented to John Baier of Warman, Saskatchewan.  Baier sells at Saskatoon Livestock Sales.

Judges for this year’s event were Ryan Konynenbelt, Jay Syverson and Jason Danard from Alberta, Reg Schellenberg, Mike Fleury and Ryan Hurlburt from Saskatchewan, Ab Carroll and Ron Stevenson from Ontario and Andy Carter from Nova Scotia.

Convention chairman Rick Wright says, “the convention and competition next year will be held in Olds, Alberta in early May.”